What is happening to the bees?

I wish I knew more about what is going on with the bees.

Back in December I was in Quito and standing on a friend’s balcony, bees were dropping dead right in front of me.  Like in a cartoon, swirling around as if someone had hit it on the head.  It was the strangest, saddest thing; the balcony was covered in dead bees.  And I’ve been noticing it more and more wherever I go.  Over the past few weeks we’ve been finding half dead bees everywhere.  I even found one in my hair clinging on for dear life.

Maybe it is the natural end of their life cycle or maybe there is some spreading epidemic; no one seems to know.  But now when I find a bee on my balcony with a lil life left in him I give him a little honey.  I can’t help it, I love the bees.  Even if he dies at least it will be a happy sugary death.

Leave a Reply

