La Rapida

I found a great place to have your clothes mended or shoes, belts, etc. fixed; it’s called “La Rapida” in Cuenca, Ecuador and apparently they have locations all over (Cuenca that is).

I had a couple pairs of pants that had huge holes in them, another pair that needed to be taken in and hemmed and a pair of boots that I had worn down the heels to nothing.  I dropped them off at 10am on a Monday, told them what I wanted done, they measured me for alterations and I was out of there in 5 minutes.  I thought I would have to wait a couple of days to get my stuff back but no! I could pick it all up that very same day at 4PM.

I’d say if you need quick fixes or alterations then take it to La Rapida.  But if you are particular about what exactly you want done or it is your favorite piece of clothing then maybe shop around.  La Rapida is fast and affordable but sometimes the work is off.  For instance, everything I gave them came back great except for one pair of pants which are my “junk pants” but they took them in too much around the calf, they still fit but they are super tight.  So mishaps can happen since they are working at such a fast pace, but totally worth it if you don’t have a sewing machine to do-it-yourself.  Check them out @ La Rapida

Leave a Reply

