3 month mark

I’ve almost reached the 3 month mark since I arrived at this school and I must say it has grown on me.  It always takes  a while to adjust but usually by the third month you know if things are working out.  I have a set schedule now and work mostly with 4th grade then two days of the week I work with 3rd grade teaching English and Science.

I absolutely love teaching 3rd grade! The kids are so adorable and super attentive (for the most part) and interested in the topics, especially during Science class.  They love to participate and show off their knowledge and they try so hard to use the English they know to explain themselves; I’m really proud of them.  It is really cute when they try to teach me Spanish words and have me pronounce the words just like I make them practice with English;  I could go on and on about how much i love 3rd grade, we just have so much fun.

Through this program we really are only “assistants” who help out with the classes, sometimes teach topics/culture, drill pronunciation and prepare the students for the Trinity exam.  But it varies depending on the school you are placed at, some teachers like to use you a bit more than our contract states.  At my school I welcome the opportunity to teach the classes and I’m lucky enough to have some great teachers to watch and learn from.

Recently, one of our teachers was absent for surgery and we weren’t positive when she would be back so another assistant and I covered her classes until they could find a replacement or until she returned.  It was the best thing that could have happened for me because I was still feeling awkard in my position and this gave me the opportunity to really get to know the students and receive some aknowldgement and respect from my peers and the students.   The classes went smoothly and I even had a chance to teach 5th grade which was a new level for me.   I’m glad I jumped on the opportunity to teach these classes because it really solidified my decision that teaching primary is what I want to be doing.

Leave a Reply

