International Woman’s Day

 

I haven’t written in a while but life can get a bit busy between work, school, friends and growth.

Friday was International Woman’s Day around the globe.  I didn’t know that in some places like China, Russia, Vietnam and Bulgaria, International Women’s Day is a national holiday.  How rad is that?  I think we need to work on making that happen in the US.

But since I am in Spain and working at an Elementary School I felt compelled to turn the English Board into a Woman’s Board for the month.  I owe so much to so many amazing women so it was really hard narrowing it down to just 20.  I also didn’t want to overload the board with Americans, I wanted to make it more global so I asked for some help from other sources.  Unfortunately, most of the Spanish women I talked to couldn’t give me a list of women they admired from their history and culture.  But the kids had something to say; One girl told me about her mother who is a fireman and another who is a computer scientist.  So my next project for the month is going to be talking with the kids about the women on the board and then asking them to write about a woman they know and admire, someone who inspires them.  And then we will make a board with their pictures and stories.  I hope I have time to make it happen but if not I’m definitely working on this next year.

woman's board

Here is a picture of the board.  I had a hard time narrowing down the women but here are the ones we used: Rosa Parks, Susan B Anthony, Clara Barton, Harriet Tubman, Aung San Suu Kyi, Rigoberta Menchú Tum, Michelle Obama, Margaret Sanger, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Rachel Carson, Frida Kahlo, Susan Wojcicki, Helen Keller, Anne Sullivan, Edurne Pasaban Lizarribar,  Maria Tecla Artemesia Montessori, Isabel Allende, Salley Ride, Eleanor Roosevelt, Jane Goodall…there were so many more we wanted to put up but next time we’ll plan more in advance.

I wanted to make it an interactive board to draw interest.  So each woman’s picture has a quote underneath and then if you lift the flap you’ll find a very brief and dumbed down bio since it is for elementary school age children.  If anything I hope the teachers read them.  Please comment with the women in history you admire and that inspire you so I can improve on the board for next year.

 

Leave a Reply

